National Novel Writing Month

When I first heard about NaNoWriMo a few years ago, I was intrigued. but not ready to commit to 50,000 words in a month.

Well, after thoughtful contemplation, I am ready to take on the challenge. I have create an outline in my head, and though I know from experience, it doesn’t always look the same where you get to the end, I have a general idea of where it will go.

I chose the title, “The Edge of Eternity” from one of my dad’s stories on my blog, In My Father’s Footsteps.  He wrote about his maternal grandmother (my great-grandmother) nearly getting struck by lightning when she was a little girl. (It killed her pet pig.) He called it her “Edge of Eternity” story.  He didn’t elaborate, but I imagine sitting in a tree and seeing your cherished pet getting struck by lightning is a frightening experience.  Being that close to death certainly makes you think of the “what ifs.”

My “Edge of Eternity” is nothing like that; I just loved the phrase. My story will be filled with mystery and magic, and twists and turns, and you’ll leave it wanting more. That’s the plan, anyway.

A short synopsis:  A boy who saves a girl, only to wind up in limbo-somewhere, but nowhere-on the edge of eternity. The trouble is, he doesn’t even know it.

Totally Stephen King-style.

I will share  few excerpts here and there, but you’ll have to wait until Nov. 30 to read it in its entirety.

The Edge of Eternity, by Cynthia Petersen

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Edge of Eternity

Eddie

Eddie made it to his desk right as the bell rang. Mr. Piper looked up from his papers and glanced at the clock, and then shot Eddie a scowl. “That’s twice this week, Eddie”

Eddie nodded and took out his notebook.

Mr. Piper cleared his throat and pushed the chair back from the desk and walked around to the front. He sat on the edge of the desk. “Class, I just finished correcting the papers from your last assignment and I’m a little disappoint.”

He took off his glasses and rubbed his eyes, then put them back on. “I think we should start thinking about study buddies.”

There was a groan from much of his 6th grade class.

“Now, now … it’s not that bad. I think pairing those who are struggling with students who understand the material will be beneficial for everyone. I’ll start making the list and let you know who you’ll be partnering with after lunch.”

He stood up and put his glasses on, grabbing a social studies book off his desk.
“Please turn to page 33….”

“Psst….” he heard behind him. Eddie looked up at Mr. Piper, who was droning on about South American countries.

He turned half-way around. “What?” he whispered.

“I hope I don’t get Smelly Shelly,” his friend Robbie whispered back. “That would be my luck.”

Robbie had created nicknames for all his classmates, except his own.  Eddie had been known as “Eddie Spaghetti” since 2nd grade. It was Robbie’s “thing.”

Eddie felt a little sorry for Shelly. It wasn’t her fault her mom used a lot of garlic.

When it was time for lunch, Eddie grabbed his sack lunch and headed down to the cafeteria. He saw Nancy McAllister, the prettiest girl in his class, talking to her friend Kathy. He caught her eye and smiled, but she quickly turned away.

Feeling a little defeated, he sulked all the way to the cafeteria. Robbie and Charlie already had a table and he sat down across from them on the bench.

“What’s up, Buttercup?” Robbie asked him, chomping down in the middle of his PB & J.

“”Nothin’. What’s up with you?” he said, knowing what was coming next.

tributecr.com

Leave a comment