Have a Horrific Halloween

I grew up watching B-rated horror flicks like Dracula, Frankenstein’s Monster, and the Werewolf, on Creature Feature,  which was shown Friday nights at 10:30. (Back then, we planned our entire weekends around TV, because, of course, we didn’t have cable or video games to occupy our time.)

These black and white films were played brilliantly by a host of talented men, including Lon Chaney, Bela Lugosi, and Boris Karloff. And they scared the you-know-what out of me.

I was about 10 when Alfred Hitchock’s thrillers Psycho and The Birds came out on TV. I begged my dad to let me watch, but he made sure my eyes were hidden at the scary parts. But being the rebel I am, I peeked once or twice, and had nightmares for a month.

As I grew older, it was Stephen King’s The Shining, Pet SemataryCarrie, Christine, and the Silver Bullet that made my heart race and pump adrenaline through my veins.

My appetite for horror films grew, and soon I was looking for new ways to get my thrills; Wes Craven’s Nightmare on Elm Street, John Carpenter’s Halloween, and the Friday the 13th series were just a few.

These days, I still love reading Stephen King novels, but as far as horror flicks go, I prefer a good mystery over blood, guts, and gore any day.

Here are a few clips from my favorite horror films throughout the years:

“IT” 1990 

“Poltergeist” 1982

“The Shining” 1980

“Halloween” 1978

“Child’s Play” 1988

“Salem’s Lot” 1979

And just for fun … “Dracula” 1931

 

Leave a Reply

