Tried & True: Snickers Pie

Most of us like pie. But if you’re like me, you try to stay healthy, too.  When my daughter asked me to taste a pie she made a few weeks ago, I hesitated because I’m watching my weight.

“Come on,” she said. “One bite won’t hurt.”

I took a small bite. It was so good I took another. And then another.

“It’s called Snickers Pie, but it tastes more like peanut butter,” she said and watch me take another bite.

It was so creamy and delicious, I couldn’t put the fork down. When I realized what I was doing, I stopped myself.

“It’s good, isn’t it?” she said with a laugh.

I looked at her with an “I can’t believe I just did that” look.

“It’s too good,” I told her jokingly, as I wiped my mouth with a napkin.

“I know! It’s addictive!” she said, still laughing at me.

The pie tasted just like the Peanut Butter Pie Bishop’s Buffet used to sell (where I worked in high school), minus the Snickers candy bars. I have been looking for a good peanut butter pie for years but could never find one I really liked.  Until now.

My youngest daughter rarely bakes, and when she does, it’s for a good cause. “What’s the occasion?” I asked her.

“Someone told me this was really easy to make so I decided to try it. It’s so easy, even I can make it,” she said with a chuckle.

One thing’s for sure; she’s definitely not as bad as she thinks.

The sugar content is quite high, as can be expected, but it’s not as bad as I first thought. I entered the ingredients on Fitnesspal.com, and found out that for a delectable slice of heaven, it’s only 530 calories, about as much as a small chocolate shake. The pie is not something I would eat every day, but it is great for special events; it’s quick, easy, and awesome.

And it’s definitely worth the extra 1/2 hour on the treadmill.

Snicker Pie

Ingredients:
1 (8 oz.) package cream cheese, softened
1 cup confectioners sugar
1/2 cup peanut butter
1 1/2 to 2 containers Cool Whip
3 Snickers candy bars
1 prepared graham cracker pie crust

Directions:
Using an electric mixer, beat together cream cheese, powdered sugar, and peanut butter until smooth. Stir in 1 tub of Cool Whip until well combined.

Cut Snickers bars into small pieces. Add chopped candy into PB mixture and stir (Save some for topping). Spoon mixture into pie crust. Top with Cool Whip and sprinkle with chopped candy bar.

Refrigerate for at least 3 hours before serving.

nutrition-value
Courtesy of Fitness Pal

 

Leave a Reply

