Crafters Are Happier People

If you think about it, crafting is just another form of creating, and creating gives us purpose.

Why is purpose important? Because it’s one of the keys to being happy, the state of being that all people strive to get to.

With that being said, how can crafters not be happier people?

I have observed, and experienced, this phenomena myself. A group of women, of all ages, who didn’t even know each other, got together recently to learn how to do a certain project. In just a few minutes, we were talking and laughing like old friends.

I have seen it in my own grandchildren, who are rambunctious and full of life, as most children are. But as soon as we sit down to do a craft, they are so focused on what they are doing, they don’t have time to complain or fight, and we all have a great time. Plus, they get to take their creation home for their parents to ooh and aah over, which helps build self-esteem.

I have heard teachers say crafting time is their favorite time. Not only does it calm the students down, but it gives them a chance away from the usual structure of the school day and lets them think freely. The students are more relaxed and they can let the creative juices flow much easier.

My youngest daughter has in a funk lately. The stress of life is taking a toll on her. Kids, work, a demanding husband, and the burden of running the house and paying bills is overwhelming. I’ve been there. I know what that feels like; you’re stuck and can’t really do anything about it. Or can you?

When you’re stuck, you have to get “un-stuck,” and one way to do that is do something you have never done.

So I asked her, “Do you have a hobby? Is there something new you’d like to try?”

She gave me a funny look, shook her head, and laughed. “Nothing. I don’t have time.”

“You have to make time,” I told her. “This is the part where you turn off your phone, tell your kids you need some alone time, and lock your bedroom door.  It’s important to take care of yourself, which includes doing something for you, something you enjoy doing.”

The more we talked, I discovered she saw a craft project she wanted to try involving string art.

“But I don’t know how.”

I grabbed my computer and googled string art. We looked up different varieties and got some ideas for a project of our own. We bought some nails, grabbed a hammer, a piece of finished wood, took out my embroidery string, and went to work.

We haven’t quite finished the project and I want to wait to unveil it, but something happened to Lori as we were working on the project. Her mood changed from one of depression to light-hearted. She was genuinely excited about what we were doing. And she smiled, a lot.

It was nice to see my happy-go-lucky little girl again.

I know achieving happiness is not as easy as that. It’s a complicated. We have happy moments, but most people can’t maintain that peaceful and content feeling very long. Life is stressful and we tend to get lost in the day-to-day struggles.

True happiness is a state of mind. Not only does it involve having a purpose; you have to decide that you aren’t going to let anyone or anything disturb your peace. You have to let go of those things you have no control over. And you have to be grateful for where you are at any given moment, something that requires more than a few hours of crafting.

But it’s a great start.

tributecr.com

 

 

Leave a Reply

