Getting Crafty

I’m not a fan of Pinterest. I think it’s a great resource, but I don’t really participate. lilyEvery once in a while I’ll venture onto a certain page and see what’s there.

But I do use Facebook every day, and that’s where I get a lot of ideas for recipes and crafts. I love doing crafts with my grandkids. Not only does it bring out their creative side, but it seems to calm them down.  The other day, seated around a group of ladies I barely knew, I noticed the positive upbeat vibes that surrounded us, as we worked together on a window display for Create Exchange in Czech Village. We talked and laughed and eveyone had a great time, even though I normally have social anxiety in situations like that.

Though it was the first time I noticed the effect crafting had on people, I delightfully surmised from that point on that people who craft are happier people.

But I wasn’t always crafty. I was in First Grade when it became apparent that I was not a natural talent when it came to cutting and pasting. I held my scissors upside-down and made a mess of my paste, smearing it all over the paper instead of where it was supposed to go.

And when my kids were growing up, coloring with them was about the extent of my craftiness. BUT ….

People change and I discovered that I love getting crafty. Just like my recipes, I love taking something and making it my own.

A recent project with my granddaughters developed into a great way to bond and share ideas for future projects. “Wishful Thinking” boards are fairly simple and inexpensive to make, too. (The name comes from making a wish and then creating it on your board to hang in your room or wherever you want.)

I started with boards from a discarded wooden pallet. I used a Sawzall to cut out the planks between the nails, sanded the boards to get rid of the rouch edges, drilled holes for the cords, and stained the boards (which can also be painted).

After we let them dry, we took a board and made it into whatever we wanted. The girls all wanted their boards to be personalized, so instead of messing around with stencils, which I am not very good at, I took wooden letters, painted them, and then hot-glued them to the boards.

We used a variety of different media (purchased from Create Exchange and other inexpensive stores) to decorate the boards including embroidered patches, paper, stickers, wooden shapes, and even buttons.

The boards were a hit! The boards are simple to make and so much fun, too! We talked about what other things we can use to create new boards, and they are already planning gifts for Christmas.

I guess I know what I will be getting them this year. 🙂

Leave a Reply

