It’s Not Always Wise to Improvise

People ask me why I only read a recipe once. Honestly, it’s because it’s a pain to have to stop what I’m doing, find where I left off, and continue making the dish. Reading a recipe once or just watching a video to see how it’s made is all I need to create my own dishes. (It also helps to have a good memory.)

But I’m not perfect and neither is my cooking. I’m only as good a cook as my last dish. But that’s ok; that’s how I learn.

There are some recipes that need to be followed to the “T.” Delicate pastries, especially the ones that use yeast, should be followed as they are written because handling the dough too much or not letting the dough rise or refrigerator could make a huge difference.

(Incidentally, according to grammarist.com, “The origins of this expression are mysterious, but it might refer to the T-square, a drawing instrument used in drafting. It might also have to do with crossing one’s T’s, as in the expression dotting the I’s and crossing the T’s. Whatever its origins, the expression now means perfectly or exactly, and it usually takes a capital T. Some writers put quotation marks around the T, but this is unnecessary.” P.S. I left the quotation marks on just to show you I’m not perfect at grammar, either.)

I saw a recipe for Grilled Berry Cobbler on Facebook and decided to make it. I didn’t want to start the grill so I baked it in my oven. I used fresh blueberries, but I don’t think I used enough. The video shows gobs of frozen fruit and I only had 2 pints. I still used two tubes of biscuits and probably should have used a smaller pan and one tube.

I covered it with foil and baked it at 375 for 30 minutes (taking in account that it is an oven and not a grill), uncovered it and baked it for another 15 minutes, because when I looked at it after 10 minutes, the biscuit didn’t look done; 15 minutes might have been too long because the biscuits got kind of hard.

Regardless, it was still awesome. And though I will make a few adjustments next time, there will definitely be a next time. Guaranteed. More cinnamon, more sugar, and maybe I’ll add a layer of creamed cheese for good measure.

Leave a Reply

