Tried and True Recipes

This is a first in a series of posts where I report about recipes and crafts I’ve made from YouTube videos and Pinterest projects.

Once in a while, I’ll see posts on Facebook of cakes people have made and most

foodnetwork.com
                                      foodnetwork.com

times, the results are disastrously. I have to laugh because that has happened to me more times than I can remember.   But I always learn from my mistakes.

Though I stay away from cake decorating as a rule (maybe I just don’t have the knack), I’ll try anything once.

One time a friend asked me if I had ever made a lemon cake with raspberry frosting.

It was supposed to look similar to this, without the raspberries on top.
It was supposed to look like this, without the raspberries on top. I didn’t get a photo of mine.

I answered, no, but I could make it for her.

How hard could it be?

The elaborate recipe she gave me included lemon curd, which, honest to God, I had never heard of before. I looked it up and found that it’s just a fancy name for lemon meringue filling.

So I made the lemon layered cake, and cooked up the lemon curd while the cake cooled. The recipe suggested having toothpicks in the cake to hold it because the lemon curd made it slippery, and they were right. The toothpicks help it for a little while, but they slipped down inside the cake and I had to dig them out. It was kind of a mess.

I tried it again. I scraped off a little more of the curd and pulled the toothpicks out of the cake so it could grab hold of the top layer.

The frosting recipe was awesome. I had to use fresh raspberries, which I had to cook, add sugar, and let cool before I could add it to the vanilla frosting I had made earlier.  It was delicious, but way too much work for the lemon-curd cake, which, by this time, looked like a cake you’d find in a Dr. Seuss movie.

I did my best to pretty-it-up, and put it in a cake holder before putting it in the fridge, until I left for the party.

My friend was nice about it, and it did taste pretty good, but it looked like crap. Which is why I’ll start this first post by telling you that there are two things I learned since then:

Rule #1:  Don’t ever try a new recipe when you have something important
to take it to.

Rule #2: Have a backup in case you forget about Rule #1.

It’s Murphy’s Law. Anything bad that can happen, will. You’ll either burn it, break it, drop it, or end up throwing it away.

A few weeks ago I saw a post of rainbow cupcakes that were adorable!  And the best part was, they were simple.

All you need is:

A cake mix of your choice
Blue and white cans of frosting
Decorating bag or Ziploc
Airheads Extreme Candy Strips  (Wal-Mart or Dollar General has them)

You can always make the frosting, but ready-made comes in handy if you are rainbow candypressed for time.

Prepare the cupcakes and let them cool. Use the blue frosting to frost the cupcakes.

If you don’t have a decorating bag, you can use a Ziploc or other plastic bag, fill it with white frosting and snip the end. Make little clouds on each side of the cupcake.

Cut the rainbow candy into 2-inch strips. Arrange the candy on top to form cupcakesrainbows.

Voila! Rainbow cupcakes.

As you can see, they didn’t turn out half-bad.

A word of advice: The ready-made blue frosting stains, so if you have little ones helping you, use caution.

tributecr.com

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

