Tried and True #2

BBQ Chicken Bombs is one recipe I knew I would like right from the beginning. 962b8c29dfba8034ea24bd08743c984eIt has all the ingredients I love; chicken, BBQ, creamed cheese, and jalapenos.

It’s a fairly easy, too. The recipe was meant as a Super Bowl appetizer, I think, but I can make an entire meal out of it!

Start with 2 boneless chicken breasts and slice them once length-wise (you can use more if you have more to feed). Place on a greased cookie sheet.

Take a 4-ounce package ( or 8, depending on the numbers) of creamed cheese, softened, and add 1/2-cup grated cheddar cheese and a little garlic salt and diced green onion if you’d like.

Dice a jalapeno (remove the stem and seeds, of course) and add to the creamed cheese mixture. Cook a few slices of bacon (not crisp) and set aside.

Blend the creamed cheese mixture well and drop a heaping tablespoon in the middle of one of the chicken breasts. Roll or fold over the chicken breast and wrap one bacon slice around it. Top chicken with BBQ sauce (I use Baby Ray’s), and then add more after 30 minutes.

Bake at 375 degrees for 40-45 minutes.

*NOTE:

I have found that I have a hard time breathing when I cut the jalapenos, so I either hold my breath or run them under cold water, or both. I could avoid the hassle and use canned, but fresh peppers are the best. I am also careful not to touch my face (especially my eyes) until I wash my hands extra well.

Another suggestion : Cut the chicken breasts as evenly as possible; too thick will make them hard to roll; too thin will make the stuffing run out. And make sure you don’t put too much filling in the middle, for the same reason.

This is one recipe that my family always asks for when we have parties and get-togethers. It’s easy to make, the ingredients aren’t too expensive, and it’s made with creamed cheese. No wonder it’s a hit.

 

Leave a Reply

