Seven-Year Itch

WordPress sent me a note two days ago to congratulate me on my 7-year anniversary with them.

That’s longer than most of my relationships, so 7 years with the same blog is quite a milestone.

I love to write, but I’ve gone months without writing a single post. Lack of time and other priorities are usually to blame, but most of the priorities are legitimate. I wrote three books, as well as compiled a cookbook, and completed countless other writing projects, so that counts for something, doesn’t it?

I started the blog as a requirement for a class, while earning my degree in journalism at Mount Mercy University. 

My very first blog was about advice I would give to myself at a younger age, inspired by the book, “What I Know Now: Letters to My Younger Self,” in which celebrities had the task of advising their younger selves before they were famous.

Since then, I have come to the conclusion that if I had done the things I’d done, I most likely would not be the person I am today. The trials and tribulations I went through shape me into who I am. But it makes for good reading.

I took on a challenge last year in which I had to complete 14 writing tasks in 30 days. It was a bit of a stretch, but I think I made it harder than it had to be.

Today, I am older and wiser (at least 7 years), and am going to try to do 30 posts in 30 days.

Still, what comes to mind is the auspicious advice from Star Wars’ Yoda, who said, Do or do not. There is no try.

So there you go.

tributecr.com

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Seven-Year Itch

Leave a Reply

