To Market, To Market

I always wondered what it would be like to be a vendor in a farmers market, and

Photo by Cynthia Petersen
Photo by Cynthia Petersen

last weekend, I got my chance to find out.

My 10 year-old granddaughter, Isabelle, and I had talked about selling  the jewelery she made and my “famous” banana bread at a local farmers market and never got around to doing it last year.

I saw this as an excellent learning experience for Isabelle. But as it turns out, I learned something, too.  I learned that I don’t want to do it again.

Being a vendor at a farmers market reminds me of holding a garage sale, which I vowed never to do again. Of the three times I held a garage or yard sale, it rained twice and was excruciatingly hot the third.

But I guess why you choose to have a sale at all really depends on your goal. If your goal is  to get your name out there, or promote your products without expectations of selling anything, you might see it as a win, no matter what. And unless you are selling truckloads of produce, the prime reason people go to farmers makets, the chances of getting rich pretty slim.

I thought our experience with the farmers market was a success, even though it was too hot, too humid, and too much work for the $20 we made. Isabelle learned how to make change (even though she informed she already learned THAT in school), how to talk to customers, and how to promote her product.

I’m really proud of Isabelle, because she didn’t give up. She was determined to see it through, and spent a lot of hours making her “Wish Bracelets.” She had to make the bracelets, come up with a gimick, design the cards (which I printed for her), decide how much they would each cost, as well as what the profit would be.

And even if Isabelle decides not to go into business for herself, maybe she can at least appreciate those who do.

tributecr.com

 

Leave a Reply

