Reading=Success

Sept. 6 was National Read a Book Day. I didn’t have time to read a book that day, but that’s okay. I don’t need a special day to make me want to read a book. But it is good to think about why reading is important.ChildrensBooksCollage1

Reading has always been a favorite pastime of mine. And since I was a little girl, I have wanted to write stories like the ones that allowed me to use my imagination in a thousand different ways.

I read every chance I could. And because I read so much, I was better at spelling, and grammar, and writing. I was a better student overall. The more I read, the more I wanted to read, to because not only was it my entertainment (as I am quite introverted), but it was my escape, as well.

There are a hundred different reasons why you should read, but the most important ones include:

  • Reading reduces tension and stress.
  • It improves the way you think, especially when it come to analyzing and problem-solving.
  • Reading is cheap entertainment.
  • Reading helps you do better in school. The better you can understand the material, the better your grades are.
  • It can also help prevent Alzheimer’s. A recent study found that people who read are two and a half times less likely to be diagnosed with Alzheimer’s later on in their lives.
  • Reading helps you to empathize with people from all walks of life. A study done by the University of Buffalo has found that reading fiction opens you up to new emotions and feelings.

According to Author and CEO, Russell Sarder, people who read are naturally more successful than those who don’t. In his video, he stresses the importance not only in reading, but in learning, and how do we learn? One way is to read! Knowledge is power, and the more you read, the more you know.

Reading offers so many benefits that you just can’t help but become a better person. Not only will you expand your vocabulary, but your imagination, too.

Between Worlds

A New World

Leave a Reply

