Three things I learned today

Ever have one of those days when you want to write but can’t really think of anything exciting to write about? It’s Monday and I’m nearing the end of my 13-hours day, and I want to write something. But what?Monday

My work is done and I have 30 minutes to kill.

This is what I learned today:

  1. If people don’t want to be bothered, they will avoid eye contact with you. My boss, Jennifer, thought it would be a great day to set up a table and try to sell the discount cards that is this year’s fundraiser for the district; 10 bucks for an assortment of discounts to businesses, not only in the Czech Village/New Bohemia neighborhoods, but businesses outside the district, as well.  All the proceeds go back into the district in the form of revitalization. It’s a win-win situation, right? While some people were interested in what we were doing, others did their best to avoid us all together, afraid to even enter into a conversation with us, for fear they will get hooked into buying something they didn’t want. What happened to a simple, “Thanks, but no thanks”? Their reactions started a conversation between Jennifer, who is 30, and myself, 52 and young at heart, about the differences between the generations regarding socializing. Besides the awkward social graces experienced by people her age and younger, she admitted that she entered into a world where she didn’t have to sit through commercials or wait very long for something to cook like her parents. I already knew there are quite a few differences, but it was interesting coming from her. She didn’t offer a solution. It was just an observation, but semi-entertaining regardless.
  2. I learned that the average human can consume 400 mg of caffeine and still be okay. I got this information from an article (Businessinsider.com) that explains the effects of caffeine on the human body. It was interesting, but caffeine consumption has its pros and cons, just like anything else. I’ll take my chances. Besides, I was told by a reputable source that I should drink a cup of coffee before I sit down to work so I can focus better. Know what? It works.
  3. The Stock Market. Scary, isn’t it? This is nothing new to me. I don’t play the market, but my boyfriend does. He told me a long time ago this was going to happen. Last year I commented on the low price of gas and he said it was because the economy was doing “too good.” It was a good indication that the market would eventually have to correct itself, which is what it did. And maybe it’s not quite done. But the way it was explained, for those who have been investing wisely, they should have no problem making it up before they hit retirement age.

Twelve minutes to go. Not bad for a Monday.

Leave a Reply

