Blogging by accident

Happy 6th Anniversary to me!

Happy 6th Anniversary to me!

I was informed by WordPress yesterday that I have reached a milestone in my blogging history. I signed up for WordPress 6 years ago. But looking back, I didn’t write my first blog until almost a year later.

My memory is kind of foggy,  but I remember it’s because I didn’t know what to write. I looked at other blogs to get an idea, but my life, at that point, isn’t what I would consider exciting.

I started attending classes at Mount Mercy and my professor told us that blogging would be a requirement in one of his classes. He suggested we acquaint ourselves with popular blogging sites.

My first blog post  was a letter I wrote to my younger self. I got the idea from a book that was given to me. It was compiled of letters that women celebrities wrote to their younger selves.

Though I only wrote the one blog a week that was required by my professor, I continued to write even after the class ended because of something he said:

“Write every day, even if it’s just a few paragraphs. You can’t help but become a better writer.”

He was right. The more I wrote, the more comfortable I became and the easier it was. And somewhere in the middle of it all, writing became a part of me.

When I want to unwind from a busy day, I write. When I have a few minutes while waiting for the doctor, I write. I even “itch” to write, which could be considered either an obsession or a passion, depending on how you look at it.

I also read as much as I can. I believe it also makes me a better writer. I am inspired by my fellow bloggers, and their stories help me look at life from different perspectives.

It might have taken a little while for me to get used to the idea of blogging, but the desire to write was no accident. It’s something that has been inside of me all my life. And when I die, I will most likely be at my computer, typing out my last words.

 

 

Leave a Reply

