Wednesday Wanderings

I guess we’ll have to add racism as one of those subjects you need to avoid if you don’t want to start an argument.

Just like in politics and religion, everyone has a different opinion, and by the time you state your belief on the subject, the other person has already established your opinion doesn’t matter.

I understand racism and sexism and all the other “isms” people seem to be coming up with every day, but there is one thing I don’t understand: When did we become a society so afraid of offending people?

I mean no offense (see?) but the truth is, I don’t want to go through the rest of my life afraid I’ll say something to someone who may take it the way I unintended and be offended by it, and ending up on the evening news.

It isn’t about color or sex or even ability. It’s all about how you treat other people:

How you treat people doesn’t say anything about who they are, but who you are. 

I consider myself a good person, but even I judge. We all do. It’s built into us humans as a defense mechanism and it tells me whether or not I want to keep associating with certain individuals.

It doesn’t tell me what color your skin is or what gender you are. My internal data collector goes through my list of criteria, which I have already established in my 52 years, and asks the simple question:

“Is this a good person?”

Most of the time my instincts are dead-on Sometimes, however, untrustworthy people slip through,but it’s not long before I realize it, and I do what I have to do to correct the situation.

My mind is wandering with 100 different reasons to be offended. But I know what other people think of me is nothing I should take personal. It’s all about their mindsets, their fears, and their inability to cope with who am I.

And how I live my life is really none of their business, anyway.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

