Wednesday Wanderings

After a month of writing challenges, I can now sit back to look at the data I have before me.

It’s good to challenge yourself once in a while; it tells you a lot about yourself. What it tells me is that I am determined (finishing the last 7 items in 3 days); I am a procrastinator (finishing the last 3 items in the final day); and I can make any deadline (finishing the last challenge right as the clock struck midnight).

It wasn’t my best work, but I think that’s because I knew I was up against the clock. I found myself just wanting to be done with it. Especially the news story. It wasn’t good and I know that.  It was a second-hand account of something that happened a few days ago. I plan on writing a better one, if only so I can be satisfied with my work. It’s a personal thing.

I went back and looked at all writing I did with the challenges. It was fun. I had a great time doing it. I took longer than I should have with the fanfiction, but it’s because I am in love with the show, Supernatural. The excitement of killing demons and monsters, along with a great story line, and Sam & Dean Winchester, and Castiel the Angel. What’s not to love? (wink, wink)

One post I have to finish is the love story. I got so caught up in the story that I didn’t realize I was spending way too much time. I’m excited to see where it goes, though. Maybe it’ll turn into a book. I’m not sure yet.

Another thing I learned about myself is something I already knew, but it just puts in better perspective; writing isn’t just something I do. It’s something that is a part of me. If there ever came a time in my life when I couldn’t write anymore, I think I would wither away because my life would no longer have meaning.

Okay, so that’s a bit dramatic, but I know there are others who share my sentiment. There’s something purposeful about being able to weave a tale or communicate vital information that makes the art so appealing. Everyone can write, but not everyone can write well. It takes more than just arranging the words on paper or a computer screen.

I’ve already told you my favorite challenge, but I have yet to share my least favorite. I wrote a poem about the Iowa State Fair, and though it was done in fun, I found it almost unpleasant. Writing the poem was painful, but maybe it because I wasn’t “in the zone.” You have to want to write poems or poetry and I just don’t care for it much. My poetry usually ends up sounding like Dr. Seuss. And while I love The Cat in the Hat, it provides me with some very valuable information:

I’m not a poet, and now I know it.

Leave a Reply

