Let’s make ‘Yea Day’ a national holiday

I was watching my grandchildren the other day when my granddaughter, Lily, turned to me and said, “Know what, Grandma? I think we should have a Yea Day.”party

“Really?” I asked. “What do you do on Yea Day?”

“We exchange presents, eat cake, and everyone is nice to everyone else,” she said. It was obvious that she had been thinking about it quite a while.

“I see,” I said, intrigued with how she came up with such a great idea. “So, does everyone get presents?”

She nodded enthusiastically, with a grin. “Yep, and everyone plays games and is just, well … nice.”

“I love that idea!” I told her, as we pulled into the driveway.

“So when should we have it?” she asked.

“Have what?”

“Yea Day,” Lily said, almost with impatience. “Grandma, were you even listening to me?”

I laughed to myself. “Of course I was, Lily. When do you think we should have it?”

“Well ….” she started. I could tell she was really thinking about it. “How about Sunday?”

“Maybe we should have it when it warms up so we can go outside and play,” I suggested.

“Oh! How about on your birthday?” she blurted out.

“But then it wouldn’t be special,” I said, looking at the calendar. “April 19 is a Sunday. Why don’t we have it then?”

Her eyes lit up, as if I had just given her the best present in the world.

“Oh, Grandma! That sounds perfect!”

So from now on, April 19 will be Yea Day, the day when everyone is nice to everyone else, and we have cake and have fun, and play games. Maybe it will never be a national holiday, but I guarantee it will become a family tradition.

 

2 thoughts on “Let’s make ‘Yea Day’ a national holiday

Leave a Reply

