Political change is inevitable

Everything changes. That’s a given. Sometimes we embrace it; sometimes we fight it to the death. And even though many of us don’t really like change, it’s our choice how we deal with it.

Borrowed from thebainreport.com.

Borrowed from thebainreport.com.

I consider myself an independent voter. Most of the candidates I voted for did not get voted into office, and I would be lying if I said I wasn’t a little disappointed.

It was a tough year. The political ads were almost more than I could take, and by the time Nov. 4 came around, I stopped watching television all together.

One of the things that really bothered me this time around was how brutal the candidates were to each other. The ads have always been a bit on the bullying side, but this year’s ads were even more so.

What is this teaching our children? That all is fair in Love,War, and now Politics? I know this “is the way it’s always been done,” but isn’t it time to do something different?

Maybe for the next election, the candidates can focus on what they will do for us instead of what their opponents are doing wrong. One of the reasons I voted for the candidates I did was because their character; I watched how they treated others, including their opponents. Were they mean, spiteful and just plain nasty? If so, I had to ask myself if I could trust this person to do what the people wanted, or if they had their own agenda.

With that being said, I have to believe that this change will be good for our nation. So many are unhappy with the way things are going, maybe by shaking things up a bit, something good will come out of it.

We can only hope.

So, we can fight the change, or we can embrace it. But I think it will most likely be somewhere in the middle.

Leave a Reply

