(My) Office Space

For the first time in my life, I have an office. With a real door.

My new office, which is also my first.
My new office, which is also my first.

And not just one in my house, either. This is an actually office with a desk that takes up half the dimensions and a couple of chairs and shelves. True, it doesn’t have my name on the door yet, but it’s just a matter of time.

I have been going back and forth with the whole “owning a business” thing. I have it in my blood. My grandpa owned a grocery store for years in Cedar Rapids, where I grew up. And as a kid, I was the one who wanted to play “store” or “restaurant” when others wanted to play “house.”

But I have a lot of fears, as I’m sure most  entrepreneurs have. (If they don’t they should have some, anyway). As I have found out, there is a lot of comfort in going to a 9 to 5 job and being able to leave your work there.

And I could do that, if I could get one, but as it is, I have had countless rejections in as many months and I’m getting tired of it.

It’s not a lack of skills,but I think employers look at my resume and see that I have only been out of college two years. It doesn’t matter f I started my own newspaper or if I have published a book. I am 51 years old with two years experience, but a lifetime of street-smarts.  Doesn’t that count for something?

So I decided to run with my online marketing idea, MarkIt CR. My niche is that I help small businesses get online at an affordable price. I am a small business owner. I know how tight money is. And I know how valuable my time is. If I were the owner of a small shop and was the only employee, I would love it if I could hire someone to do the dirty work (who happens to like doing it.)

It’s a win-win for everyone involved.

But then I realized that I needed my own space, a place where I could work and NO ONE would bother me. I needed an office.

The building where my new office is belongs to a friend of mine. I asked him if he knew someone who wanted to share office space and said, “As a matter of fact, I do.”

“Can two friends share the same office space without driving each other crazy?”

I think in this case, we can. He and I are both advisors for Venture Crew, an organization that is associated with the Boy Scouts of America. Our group is specifically for special needs boys and girls, and he and I both have sons who are challenged.  The other person who is sharing the office is on the committee for the group.

It’s so nice having my own space, and I couldn’t ask for better office mates.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “(My) Office Space

  1. Congratulations! For your new office. We both are doing the same thing of helping small businesses to have their online presence. Only the thing is, I m doing it in India and being a housewife, i do prefer to do it from my home to take care of my family. All d best though!

Leave a Reply

