Summer’s end

It’s been a long summer.

We spent Labor Day at the park; one last hurrah before it turns colder. (Photo by Cynthia Petersen)
We spent Labor Day at the park; one last hurrah before it turns colder. (Photo by Cynthia Petersen)

For someone who doesn’t have a full-time job, I’ve been staying very busy.  Between my kids and grandkids, my mother, my boyfriend, and a couple of part-time jobs, I think I’m busier now than when I was a part of the normal workforce.

My search for work has not been in vain. After being laid off from Hibu at the end of April, I thought about doing freelance work and being my own boss. It didn’t take me long to see that while I am very good at what I do, there are parts of owning a business that I don’t particularly like.

I am not an organized person. I can be organized if I have to, but my personality is such that I can’t keep scheduled hours on my own. I am easily distracted by more important things like driving my son to the store, or stopping what I’m doing so I can help my mom.

My lack of organization was driving me crazy because I couldn’t get anything done. No matter what I did, I couldn’t stick to my work hours. There was always something “more important” to do.

I’m helping Jim Ecker (a former CR Gazette sports writer, now owner of Metro Sports Report) with his website a couple of nights a week, uploading stories and photos, as they come in. I still write for the Marion Times, and now I’m the news coordinator/writer for the Hiawatha Today, a new monthly publication. Times editor, Corey Munson, asked me to help them out. Of course I said yes. I don’t think I’ve ever turned down a new experience.

I like the flexibility the part-time jobs give me, but I miss the benefits and routine of a full-time job. And though, I’ve had several interviews, it seems they are always looking for someone with more experience or more time in the workforce.

I went to college, not only to fulfill a dream, but I also figured that once I had a degree, employers would be clamoring to hire me. However, getting a degree at 46 is different from getting a degree at 22. Technically, I only have two years work experience as a professional writer/editor, but a lifetime of experience in other areas. Doesn’t that count?

So I keep searching.

But really, I can’t complain. I can pay my bills and I’m doing what I need to do. I get to spend more time with my family and volunteer with several different groups. Maybe that was the plan all along.

 

 

Leave a Reply

