Stressed spelled backwards is desserts (and diet is a four-letter word)

I have put on a few pounds in the past few years. More than 30 pounds, actually. It was so easy, so subtle, so excusable, that I barely noticed. No, truth be told, I did notice. I was just in denial.

One day (and one pound) at a time.

One day (and one pound) at a time.

I love sweets. I don’t really have a favorite, either. I love them all. There is definitely a cookie I would not eat. And ice cream. Oh, I love ice cream. And cake, and brownies, and chocolate. I could go on and on, but I’m making myself crazy.

After my second daughter was born, I weighed in just under 200 pounds. I didn’t lose any, either.  I loved the Ding Dongs too much. I eventually lost some of the weight, but then I just gained it back when I became pregnant with my third daughter 18 months later.

It took me years to finally reached that magic number I was comfortable with. At one time, I was able to fit into size 10 jeans. But only briefly. I settled into a 12, where I stayed for more than 10 years. Then I met Jeff, who I am not blaming for my weight gain. I just decided he fed me too well.

This past January at work, we were asked we wanted to participate in the Live Well Challenge.  I didn’t need the pressure of the possibility that I would fail at yet another “diet,” (at last count, there were at least 5 of them). But I needed to do something.  So I decided to try it on my own. My rules. My own level of stress. And I would not call it a diet. I would call it “changing my eating habits.” (Because as the title suggests, diet really is a four-letter word.)

I don’t do moderation very well, so I knew I would have to call it quit on the sweets. For now. I hated the thought of doing away with them forever. I decided to do the challenge for the 10 weeks that my co-workers were going to do it and I would see how much I could lose. It was that simple.

Well…yes, and no.

A friend of mine told me about myfitnesspal.com.  I love it. You put in what exactly you ate for the day, and how much you exercised and it tallies everything up for you; how many calories, how many carbs, how much sodium, and fat and sugar.

It’s awesome.

Since January 27, I have lost 18 pounds. It’s been slow, but it’s been an eye-opening experience. I never realized how much sodium is in canned foods and Panera’s soups.  Or how fattening beef and pork is. And gravy and butter. Even sour cream. And I don’t miss sweets as much as I thought I would.

Okay, maybe it makes me a little jealous when everyone else gets to have a Dairy Queen, but I am perfectly fine with my Fiber One Lemon Bar. The little treats aren’t bad and they curb my sweet tooth, but the truth is, I feel so much better about myself.

I would like to be back to where I was when I lost the weight the last time-145 pounds. And I will get there. It just might take me awhile. But I have other reasons for losing the weight than just to look good and feel better about myself. I have to admit that as I get older, it’s easier to get around if I’m not carrying around excess weight. Besides, it cost way too much to go to the doctor anymore. Because, as we all know, “An ounce of prevention is worth a pound of cure.”

(Visit my new website-Markitcr.com)

Leave a Reply

