New Girl Scout cookie might be more nutritious, but…

The Girl Scout’s annual cookie sale is in full swing and I have been solicited by at least four scouts wanting to sell me cookies. The cookies are not part of my diet plan, but I want to help the girls out. So far I have bought 6 boxes of the yummy confections.

Cranberry Citrus Crisps
Cranberry Citrus Crisps

But let’s face it. They aren’t as good as they used to be.

“It’s all about the cause; it’s not about the cookie.” Yes, I know that.

The cookies are actually baked by ABC Bakers and Little Brownie Bakers and then distributed by Girl Scouts all over the country. Some cookies, like Thank you Berry Munch and Chocolate Chip Shortbread (Gluten-free)  are only available on the East coast, while others are only available farther west, like the Cranberry Citrus Crisps.

Being the cookie connoisseur that I am, I had to taste a few of the new cookies to see what they were like. They are being called  “a more nutritious cookie” because they are made with 9 grams of whole wheat. The rest of the ingredients are: Whole grain wheat flour, enriched flour  (wheat flour, niacin, reduced iron, thiamine mononitrate, riboflavin, folic acid), sugar, canola oil, dried cranberries (cranberries, sugar, sunflower oil), malt syrup (from corn and barley), invert sugar, natural flavor, baking soda, ammonium bicarbonate, salt, monocalcium phosphate, soy lecithin, distilled monoglycerides (BHT and citric acid added as antioxidants). I recognize a few of the ingredients; salt, cranberries, sugar, baking soda… (what the heck is monocalcium phosphate?)

Let’s face it; a cookie is a cookie, no matter how it is marketed. For the four cookies I ate, I consumed 150 calories, 4 grams of fat, 26 carbs, 70 grams of sodium, and 10 grams of sugars (yes-it’s not a typo-the sugar is plural). I take that  to mean there are other kinds of sugar in my Cranberry Citrus Crisps. I had to spend 15 minutes on the elliptical machine to burn off those four cookies.

I’m not knocking Girl Scout Cookies; I just wish they wouldn’t jump on the “wholesome goodness” bandwagon and market the cookies as something that is good for you. **Sigh**

I really wish there was such a thing as a no calorie, no carb, no fat, cookie that actually tasted good.

I will continue to buy Girl Scout cookies because I believe in the organization and I know that the money they make allows the girls to do things they normally wouldn’t be able to do.

My granddaughter, Isabelle, was able to see “The Nutcracker” ballet in Davenport over the holidays because of the money they made last year. They also use the money for community projects and activities that raise the confidence and self-esteem of young girls.

But back to the Cranberry Citrus Crisps.; they are kind of chewy, kind of bland, but overall, they satisfied my sweet tooth. As someone who can’t do anything in moderation, I did not feel like I had to eat the whole box of these cookies.

But to be honest, the Peanut Butter Sandwich cookies are still my favorites.

Leave a Reply

