I know why they call it yard ‘work’

I spent most of my Saturday making a dent in the shrubbery that had attached itself to our chain link fence. We thought the vine had been destroyed last year, but it must have found its way back into existence this year.flower

Its growth went unnoticed for the most part, along with the rest of the weeds. I had neglected the back yard, mostly because I was too busy doing other things, but also because it has been too hot to doing much manual labor.

Nonetheless, the time had come to either cut it down, or let our backyard become a tropical jungle. I decided to cut it down because I figured it would help keep the bugs to a minimum and make the yard look a little neater.

So I got to work. I found that the vines had twisted around the fence, the trees, and yes, even itself. At first I was very careful not to cut any of the branches, but then I just gave up and started chopping away and anything the clippers came into contact with.

When I got to the end of the fence, I looked back at what I had accomplished. I couldn’t believe the massive amount of brush I had cut from the fence alone.

I looked around for more things to cut. I admit that I did go a little crazy with the clippers, but my yard never looked so good.  I was tired, but a good kind of tired, the kind of tired that comes with a job well done.

Even if it is only yard work.

Walt Disney said, “Whatever you do, do it well.” I totally agree.

Tomato update: My tomato plants died some time ago when I left them on the back porch and the 4 inches of rain we got that night drowned them.  Maybe next year.

Flower Update: I planted a few bulbs in the spring and forgot what they were. I can identify the Lilies, but I’m not sure about this one. I think it’s a Dahlia, but I’m not 100 percent sure. It’s interesting, anyway.

A stange-looking flower. At first I thought it was a sunflower because of the stalk. Now I'm not sure. Photo by Cynthia Petersen

A stange-looking flower. At first I thought it was a sunflower because of the stalk. Now I’m not sure. Photo by Cynthia Petersen

Leave a Reply

