An ending is just a new beginning

I read somewhere that an ending is really just a new beginning.

In the past year I’ve had to face the end of something that meant the world to me, but now I see that it was just paving the for me to start something new. But I couldn’t see it…until I did.

When I started my newspaper project I couldn’t see an ending because I didn’t want to. I had an exit plan, but I didn’t want to admit that was even a possibility. I knew my newspaper was going to make it and I was going to do everything in my power to see that happen.

Well, I did do my best, but in the end, the operating costs became too expensive. Working a full-time job, I couldn’t get out and get ads. Even if I could, I’m not sure if it would have mattered.

Let’s face it; I’m not a pushy person. When someone said, “Thanks, but no thanks,” all I could say was, “OK, thank you for your time,” and left feeling rejected.

I did have a few hopeful moments when I did get advertisements, but when I realized that I didn’t want to have to do this for the rest of my life, I accepted that I am not a salesperson and began to look at other alternatives.

It took me a month or two before I realized that this was not the end, but just the beginning of something even better.

I still have my website at www.hiawathaadvocate.net, but I am devoting more time and attention to other projects, including book publishing and a freelance business.

Who knows? Maybe these projects won’t work out, but there will always be a new beginning if they don’t.

Leave a Reply

