Minor setbacks are OK, as long as they don’t turn into major defeats

I suppose it was just a matter of time before someone pointed out my mistakes in the paper.

He started the e-mail with, “I was at my parent’s reading your newspaper…” I should have stopped there, because up to that point, I was elated that someone was even reading my newspaper.

But, no, I kept on reading.

The entire page was filled with comments about all the typos I made in my last issue.

Ouch.

And even though he said, “I hope this doesn’t hurt your feelings,” it did. For a minute.

I knew I had made a few mistakes in the last issue, but I didn’t realize I had made soooo many. So I sent him back an e-mail thanking him for taking the time to read the paper and for pointing out the typos. I found myself explaining why I didn’t have an editor and realized that I was just making excuses.

But it reminded me of all the times that I had made mistakes at school and just wanted to give up. But I didn’t. I swallowed my pride and listened to the advice and feedback that was being offered. And then I did what I was supposed to, to make the next issue even better.

It’s hard to put out a perfect paper. And though I may come close, I probably never will.

I think he was surprised that I responded so quickly because he e-mailed back and said that he was reluctant to send the e-mail because he wasn’t sure how I would take the feedback.

Then he ended his e-mail with, “I am a professor of education.”

That made me feel better, because then I realized that most people probably wouldn’t even have bothered sending me the e-mail. Though it wasn’t a pleasant lesson to learn, I know it will help me be a better journalist.

And I do want to be a better journalist. All I can do is be open to the suggestions that are offered to me.

Hiawatha Advocate Online

2 thoughts on “Minor setbacks are OK, as long as they don’t turn into major defeats

Leave a Reply

