This week’s headlines

I had the opportunity to write many good articles for my third issue. One was

Took some time off to take the grandkids to the park Saturday. My grandson Lennox discovered swinging and cried when I took him home.

about a Boy Scout Troop, whose members have disabilities, a Hiawatha business, whose owner is also a founder of an animal rescue in a neighboring community, and the update on the Hiawatha city council happenings.

There were many others, but those are the big ones. And I finally have a few new writers. Granted, two of them are my daughters, but two others are people who just want to write for me.

My first two issues weren’t bad, but they weren’t the best, either. Someone told me, “Don’t be so hard on yourself,” but I have to be a little bit. How can I expect to do improve if I’m OK with being mediocre?

And I am getting better. My third issue was actually 15 minutes early, compared to last week’s hour late. I also received some great feedback that I used in the latest issue.

But I had to improvise a little. I was only going to do 8 pages, and found that I did have enough material for almost 12. Not enough sports or school news, so what do I do?

The material I had was mismatched and so I could have gone back down to 8 and stockpiled the others, or go for the 12. I had to make a decision, so I went for the 12. I wanted to put in an engagement and wouldn’t have been able to include two stories I had to get in. But it doesn’t matter what the reason is. I believe that I made the right choice.

And it will get easier to make those choices as I go, but it’s nice to know that I can go with 8 pages if I need to.

I’m definitely learning a lot, not just about how to put together a newspaper, but about business, and people, how they are affected by what I write, and how I can have an impact on the world around me.

Issue four is coming right along, and with spring coming next week and summer not far behind, I may just have to go to 16 pages.

Leave a Reply

