All in a daze work

Even when I was working full-time, going to school full-time, and was the editor in chief of the Mount Mercy Times, I wasn’t as tired as I am right now.

Granddaughter Lily reads the Hiawatha Advocate at our open house Feb. 29. (Photo by Cynthia Petersen)

I’m not complaining, just making an observation.

But I am tired. Going into my third issue, I have come to the conclusion that I can’t do it all on my own. Until I can hire some writers, editors, photographers, and delivery people (With the state of the economy, you would think it’d be easy!) I’m going to adjust the size of the paper a little so it can become manageable; for the time-being, anyway.

The local businesses will come around, I’m sure of it. It may take them a while to make sure I’ll be staying in business, but I’m confident that they’ll be knocking on my door soon.

The subscribers will come, too. I just have to find a better way to get the word out, and convince the community that they need the paper to stay up to date with what’s happening in Hiawatha.

Until that actually happens, I will just have to keep plugging away, and realize that the craziness probably won’t last forever. Sometimes I just need to be reminded of that.

“If it was easy, everyone would do it.”

Sigh.  I think I just need to get more sleep.

I don’t remember much of the past two weeks. I’ve spent most of it just trying to get my bearings and find a balance. But I know someday I’ll look back at all the hard work that’s gone into this…

…and smile.

Leave a Reply

