It’s too late to turn back now

Those of you who follow my blog already know that in a week I will be publishing the first issue of my community newspaper.

So many emotions are going through me that it’s hard to concentrate on anything else.

But there’s one emotion that I don’t think I have ever felt before.

I guess it can best be described as a calm fear.

It’s certainly not a usual kind of fear. I’m not panicking, nor am I overwhelmed at the thought that anything could go wrong at this point. It’s more like your first day of school; you’re excited and scared at the same time. But the anticipation and excitement overshadows the fear. And you know the fear is there-you can feel its presence, but you have no intention of letting it control you.

Yeah, that’s exactly how it feels.

So, here goes nothing, or everything. There’s no turning back, even if I wanted to. But that’s kind of silly, because quitting was never an option.

So, I’m on an emotional roller coaster right now, but in a good way. I’m feeling a mixture of pride, accomplishment, satisfaction, contentment, but also a bit of impatience and frustration. It’s normal, I guess, to feel all these things as I enter new territory. But I do know what I’m doing, and that’s a great feeling in itself.

As long as we don’t get a big blizzard that would delay the delivery of my first issue, everything will be fine … (To Be Continued).

4 thoughts on “It’s too late to turn back now

  1. crgardenjoe

    I’m anxiously awaiting your open house and the arrival of the “Advocate.” Rock on, brave new journalist! There will never be another first!

Leave a Reply

