So much news, so little time

I was reminded again today that there’s a story everywhere you look. While I was attending a get-together for business owners in Hiawatha, I met a woman who worked for an organization called, “To the Rescue.” The business helps older people stay in their homes, instead of having to move to a retirement home or assisted living.

This woman told me about her business, but it was the story behind the story that I found so fascinating. She told me that she previously lived in Palisades Park in a cabin with her daughter before moving to Cedar Rapids, and then to Hiawatha.

“That was before I drove semi…” she told me matter-of-factly. Without batting an eye, she told me how much she enjoys living in Hiawatha. As she returned to her original story regarding her business, I diverted back to the semi story.

“Did you like it?” I asked.

“Well,” she started. “It was quite an experience…” She was cut off by Dee Baird, president of the Cedar Rapids Metro Economic Alliance (Chamber of Commerce).

I was quick to get the woman’s card and info before I was off to meet other Hiawatha business leaders.

Everybody has a story. It is who we are and where we’re going. It’s lessons we’ve learned and accomplishments we’ve mastered. It is what has helped us get to where we are.  Sometimes they’re interesting, sometimes not, but they are always worthy of being told.

I was recently asked how I will come up with content to put in my paper every week. It’s not the lack of content that I’m worried about, but more if I will have the time to write all that I want. If that’s all that I ever had to do, I could write until my heart gave out.

I guess we’ll just have to see. After all, I was wondering how I would come up with the content to write everyday and so far, it’s been easy. But I’m afraid that once I get busy, it’ll be the lack of time that will be the problem. But then, I’m sure I’ll cross that bridge when I get to it.

One of my "stories." Kandi Wolfe is an insurance agent who loves to paint and plans on painting a mural on her employer's building this spring in Hiawatha. (Photo by Kandi Wolfe)

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

