Week 31-Closer to reality

In just 45 days, my community newspaper will become a reality. It’s hard to believe that it all started with an idea and alot of faith.

When I first started talking about my idea to start a newspaper, I’m sure that some thought that I was just dreaming, that it would never really amount to anything. But here we are, more than a year later, planning the first issue and putting the final pieces together.

I was recently asked by someone close to me, “Are you afraid?”

Afraid isn’t the right word, nor is it relevant. At this point, there’s not going back and no giving up. I have put a lot of work into this and I intend to see it through.

More than anything else, I’m excited! How many people get the chance to see their dreams become a reality?

I’ve gotten to know Hiawatha fairly well in the past year. A few developments have come up that have been substantial learning experiences, and I suppose looking at it that way has taken the fear out of it; for the most part, anyway.

I still get a little anxious now and then at the thought of how it will all pan out, but that’s just part of the experience.

Hiawatha Advocate

Leave a Reply

