Home parties still alive and well in the 21st Century

I’ve been to  a few home parties over the years. Home Interior sconces and paintings

Tupperware parties became popular in the 1950s. (Babyboomeraily.com)

adorn my walls, Sarah Coventry jewelry still lies in a box on my dresser, and Mary Kay makeup can be found in my bathroom closet. And yes, a few Tupperware glasses and bowls are brought out for my grandkids to use.

My attendance at a Pampered Chef party recently made me think about how long the idea of home parties has been around. I found a little information on the man who made Tupperware on babyboomerdaily.com:

“Earl Tupperware was a Dow Chemical plastics wizard who invented a new ‘burp when open’ seal that kept food fresh. Tupperware combined  thrift, convenience and casual dining: all 1950s marketing buzz words. The innovative product line didn’t fly off store shelves, however, because the newfangled lid required demonstration and a little salesmanship.”

I don’t go to a lot of home parties, of any kind, mostly because I don’t have the time. But they are kind of fun once in a while. And even though some have gone away, a few new products are beginning to surface. Scentsy flameless candles have become the rage in the past few years.

I think it’s more for the social aspect than anything; a chance to get together with the girls to do what girls like to do. Guys aren’t excluded, but it’s rare to see guys at a Pampered Chef, Tupperware, or Scentsy party.

But maybe that’s why there’s Monday Night Football.

Leave a Reply

