Bringing my work home with me (Week 30)

Sometimes I wonder if I’m becoming a workaholic. I like to work, and sometimes I get so absorbed that I don’t get a

Cedar Run Pet Boarding open house (Photo by Cynthia Petersen)

lot else done most days. But maybe that’s the way it’s supposed to be. Being a single mother of four, I spent years working late hours and getting up at dawn. So maybe I just don’t know how to relax. But I like staying busy and enjoy my life. is that so wrong?

I think the problem is that my work is my hobby, too. I am a journalist by profession, but I also write just because I like to write. You could say that I like to work at what I do, so I’m always working, except when I’m not.

And it’s not just the writing that I love. It’s also the people I get to talk to and the things that we talk about for my stories. I learn so much from just listening to other people talk.

Looking for a home (Photo by Cynthia Petersen)

How many people can say that they love what they do? I’m guessing, not many. And as much as I love what I do, there are still hazards that I have to come to terms with.

Today I went to the Cedar Run Pet Boarding open house in Hiawatha, and as I entered the building, I realized what those hazards were. There were so many dogs (and a few cats) at the event, I couldn’t help but stop to pet and talk to each one I came to.

Funny how a grown person talks to a dog like it’s a human. “Hello there! And what’s your name? Oh, you are so cute! You’re a good boy aren’t you?”

And of course, they wag their tails as if they know what you’re saying, though they can’t possibly. But if you’re a dog lover, it doesn’t matter. You’re still going to talk to them.

And yes, I wanted to take them all home, especially a cute little guy wearing a T-shirt. But I had to tear myself away, take pictures, and leave without adopting a dog. Believe me, I would if I could, but I already have one who thinks she human. I’m not sure she would understand if I brought my work home with me.

Hiawatha Advocate

Leave a Reply

