Quieting my mind takes practice-Week 26

I was wondering why I was feeling a little stressed this past week. Between holidays with the family, school, job hunting, starting a newspaper, AND maintaining a news website, my life has been a little crazy.

I have to practice yoga when I can.

And so I have started yoga again. Unfortunately, I don’t have the money or the time to go to yoga classes so I do it at home. Yoga helps me to slow down and concentrate on nothing. That’s right, nothing.

I have a problem; I think too much. I consider it a problem because no matter what I do, I can’t turn it off. Thinking can be a good thing. I’m a very good problem solver, mostly because I think myself into craziness trying to come up with a solution. I also have an awesome imagination, which is also sometimes not so good. Because of my imagination, I worry too much, wondering about the “what ifs.”

So yoga helps me to turn that off, for a little while anyway.

There are other aspects about yoga that I appreciate. The spiritual practices of Hinduism and Buddhism are hinted through yoga, which has a lot to do with the Self; caring for Self and striving for wholeness. Without going into too much detail, some people also think of yoga as a cleansing for the soul.

Aside from all that, yoga is refreshing and helps me quiet my mind for a while.

But yoga isn’t easy. In fact, it’s kind of hard at first, but once you get used to it, you miss it when you don’t do it.

I used to pride myself on how much stress I could bear, but now that I’m entering a time in my life when stress can really be disastrous for me, I’m learning to take better care of myself. And that includes not thinking so much.

The Hiawatha Advocate

Leave a Reply

