Hard work pays off-Week 25

Not a lot of people know this about me, but when I was 11, I became the owner of a 1-year-old colt. He was small and skinny but he was mine. He was chestnut-colored and had a star in the middle of his forehead, and so that became his name.

Hiawatha Advocate

My friend lived on a farm on the outskirts of Marion, Iowa, where they boarded several horses.

I loved horses. I read everything I could about horses. I even dreamed about horses. On a visit to an auction one cold night in January, I had the chance to bid on a horse, and I did. I bought Star for $27.

My parents weren’t exactly thrilled, but they accepted it, and I spend the next few years learning everything about horses; how to take care of them, how to ride them, and how to train them.

It was hard work, but the rewards far outweighed the pain. It was an experience I’ll never forget.

Week 25 has me thinking about all those times in my life when I complained about how hard something was, not being able to see the glory in it. It was only after I had accomplished what I set out to do, that I was able to appreciate the hard work I put into it.

A wise man once said, “If it was easy, everyone would be doing it.”

And starting a newspaper isn’t really the hard part. It’s all the stuff that goes along with it. Taking it a step at a time has made my preparations much easier.

Other accomplishments I’m remembering today include teaching myself how to ride a bike when I was 4, learning how to ride a unicycle when I was 10, learning how to parallel park….perfectly, raising my four children, and graduating from college. And now, starting a community newspaper.

My hard work is paying off; but then, I knew it would.

Hiawatha Advocate

Leave a Reply

