The more the merrier

My daughter is pregnant with twins. She found out early on that they are both girls but still refers to them as Baby A and Baby B. The girls are due to come into this world Nov. 3, but as we all know, they come when they want to.

Two weeks to go!

I have four granddaughters and four grandsons, two of which are not by blood, but are still a part of our family unit. The addition of the twins will make 10 grandchildren for me, and I don’t think my children are done having kids yet. I have three daughters and a son. My daughters all have children, and may be done having kids, but my son, Sean,  is only 19. It may take him a while, but I know he wants a family someday.

But right now, Holly is feeling miserable. No one in our immediate family has had twins before, so this is a new experience for everyone. We have watched Holly balloon to three times her normal size. She has actually lost a few pounds from her starting weight. I told her it’s because she is taking better care of herself. She quit smoking, drinking, eating fast food, and is exercising more. Pregnancy seems to do that to a person.

She told me that carrying two babies is a lot tougher than just one. Everything is magnified; the stretching, the pressure against her bladder and pelvis, and the movement, while wonderful, makes it feel like they’re fighting for space, which, I’m sure, they are.

I keep reminding my daughter to enjoy these last two weeks because she is going to be busier than she ever imagined. It’s a good thing she has had some training; she has a 5-year-old rambunctious daughter, Isabelle, and she works as a server at Chili’s, but I don’t think anything can really prepare a mother for what comes next. You just learn to go with the flow and take this as they come.

But, as with any hormonal imbalance, she is also emotional and her mood swings upset her. “I’m afraid I won’t love the twins as much as I love Isabelle,” she told me. I tried not to laugh, because I knew she was serious. I hugged her and assured her that will not be a problem.

I explained to her that it’s hard to explain a  mother’s love; it just happens, and nothing will ever change the way you feel about your children. You love them all the same, but different.

I guess she’ll just have to figure that one out for herself.

Leave a Reply

