Morning Glorious

Summer is winding down. The mornings and evenings are getting cooler. Soon the leaves will begin to change color and drop from the trees in droves.

Morning Glories-the beginning

I like the changing seasons. The smell of burning leaves, the crisp, cool air, the fierce excitement of football games and tailgates; these are all reminders that another season has passed. And so, it’s time to say goodbye to summer.

I had a great summer. I worked a lot of it, but I still found time to enjoy it.  One time I did this summer was to learn how to grow Morning Glories, a challenge that taught me that there is more to it than just putting seeds in some soil.

I did start with a packet of seeds, a small container, and potting soil.  but then I had to wait. And wait and wait…a long time.

It was almost a month before the first green stem began to nudge its way through the soil. Of course I was thrilled! I was actually capable of making something grow!

A little bit more

But  I knew this was just the beginning. I had to care for them so they would thrive. So I watered them when they needed it, gave them plenty of sunshine, and lots of TLC. But as much as I tried, they didn’t grow very fast. A month had passed and still they were only an inch high. Out of the 30 or so seeds that I planted, only five actually made it that far. I decided that I would transplant them into a larger container.  And so they grew a little more.

When they had matured to a few more inches, it was apparent that they needed to be set free. After researching Morning Glories, I found out that they are a viney sort of flower that blossoms in the morning (duh) and like a lot of sun. I planted them at the base of a trellis set up against the garage, in full view of the morning sun.

Every day I checked on their progress. They were a little slow at first, but then something amazing happened. They began to grow. Rapidly. They began to grow so fast I couldn’t keep up with them. They took on a life of their own and wrapped around the trellis…twice. But still, there were no flowers.

Two months later

After a few weeks of strictly leafy blossoms, I began to accept the fact that it just wasn’t meant to be, that my plant would be blossomless. But then it happened. I was walking around the yard one day and I saw it. I saw something out of the corner of my eye, and I had to look twice to make myself believe it. But there it was; a pretty little pink flower that had made its home on my vine.

I was so excited, I just had to share it with everyone I knew, who were just as excited because they know my track record with pants. So, I have broken my curse with plants…but still not with moles. This accomplishment kind of makes up for the mess they made of my yard. Almost.

Morning Glorious

2 thoughts on “Morning Glorious

  1. It does seem to take forever for morning glories to bloom, but it’s nice when they do! I’ve had only a few this year, but they are among the final flowers of the season.

Leave a Reply

