Week 15–expecting the unexpected

Out of all the things I have learned up to this point, one thing stands out among the rest; expect the unexpected.

I have been working for months on business plans and marketing strategies and newspaper templates. But there is something that has been weighing heavy on my mind. Though I have the experience of being the editor of a paper, I have never actually owned a newspaper. I’ve never even owned a business. Do I have what it takes?

Hiawatha Advocate

I’m taking an entrepreneur class and a marketing class, but I wonder if that will be enough.  My dream of publishing a newspaper never included being a business owner, but it kind of has to. The two have to somehow come together in order for the whole thing to work. The idea of having to sell advertising and make important business decisions is something that I know I’ll have to work at, but I know it’s possible.

I took an entrepreneur assessment test last week and found out that I am highly developed in many business skills, including problem-solving and remaining calm in a crisis. It also said that I am lacking in team-playing and balance. That explains a lot.

Knowing that I have many business skills already does ease my fears a bit, but I can’t help but wonder what obstacles are still ahead for me. I guess I will just have to expect that the unexpected could arise at any time, and I have to be ready to deal with those issues, the same way I have dealt with them before; head-on.

Week 15 has been finalizing my advertising brochure and flyers, and getting ready to talk to local businesses. The obstacles are minimal at this point and helping me to see those things I need to work on. All I can do is just keep taking the next step and continue in the right direction.

The Hiawatha Advocate

Leave a Reply

