What a week …. 14

Week 14 wasn’t nearly as difficult as it could have been.

I started classes last week. That in itself would have been enough. But then my boyfriend turned 50, which started a whole other chain of events.

He didn’t want a party or any kind of fuss made over him. I don’t think it was just because he didn’t want to be reminded that he is half a century old; he’s just naturally that way. So how could I make this birthday special?

I had to get creative, so I made him a present. I took all the skills I had learned and put them to good use. Jeff comes from a small family, with most of them living out of town. I thought fun it would be to get everyone’s help in making him a “card” for his birthday and sent out e-mails and asked for old photos and memories about him. I used InDesign to construct the card, which tuned out being more a book, decorated and had Office Max put it in booklet form.

It turned out better than I expected. And he loved it.

I also took him to the General Store Restaurant in Stone City.  The restaurant is situated on the banks of the Wapsipinicon River. The day was gray and rainy, but we didn’t care; though we couldn’t sit out on their deck, we had a great time anyway. The old building is constructed with limestone from the local quarry, giving the restaurant an interesting feel to it. The food was good and the staff was friendly. When we got home, there was a “singing” balloon and birthday cake waiting for him at his front door, courtesy of my daughter.

He told me that it was his best birthday yet. Wow … that’ll  be hard to beat next year.

Between homework and working on the Time’s website, I also worked on my own paper and website this week. I also met with the principals of the elementary schools in Hiawatha. I figured that because I’m including an education section in my paper, it would be a good idea to get to know the schools. The principals were eager to learn more about the paper and had some great ideas for content.

Matt Nesslage collects for MDA at the intersection of Boyson and Robin roads in Hiawatha. (Photo by Cynthia Petersen)

Not only was I able to get out and do some PR for the paper, I was also able to write a few articles for the website, including one about the Hiawatha firefighters.  They were out this weekend collecting money for Muscular Dystrophy. I thought it would be a good photo opportunity, so even though it was raining Saturday morning, I grabbed my camera and went out in search of a great photo. I found them, and it turned out great.

This week, I also remembered my dad, who died three years ago on Sept. 6, and attended a cheerleading practice for my 5-year-old granddaughter. It just shows me that a lot can happen in a week, all very different things, but all important, just the same.

The Hiawatha Advocate

Leave a Reply

