Ice cream makes everything better

My granddaughter was a little upset that her big sister went to Adventureland with her other grandmother yesterday. After talking to my granddaughter on the phone, the solution was obvious; we need to go get ice cream.

Lily enjoys a Dairy Queen (with sprinkles!)

Ice cream is one of those things that just naturally makes everything OK. Whether it’s a skinned knee or a bruised ego, ice cream somehow takes the sting out of whatever is bothering us.

Ice cream is a great comfort food. It’s often portrayed in movies and TV shows as a cure-all for a heartache and goes well a good movie and a good cry. But ice cream is great anytime.

Ice cream goes great with cake, pie, cookies, or as a sundae. It’s good with fruit or sauce, or as my dad would serve it,  heaping high in a bowl, spilling over the sides. (My dad really liked ice cream!)

Though the rise in selection of ice creams can make it difficult to choose, vanilla is still high on many people’s list as ultimate favorite. It can be eaten as it is, or doctored up with chocolate, strawberry, or caramel syrup.

My personal favorite is blackberry ice cream, but I find that it’s getting harder to find. Ice cream companies want to add chocolate and nuts to my ice cream, but I’m more of a Plain Jane. I can do without the sprinkles and cookie bits; just give me a plain cone and I’m good to go.

Many companies have come and gone in recent years, trying to gain the king position in the ice cream world. However, there are only a few that can actually say they are worthy; Dairy Queen, Ben & Jerry’s, Blue Bunny, and Coldstone Creamery all have a place in my vocabulary.

Though I really have to watch how much ice cream I eat these days, comforting my grandkids is always a good excuse.

Leave a Reply

