Week 13–A turning point

I have to admit that I am a little superstitious, though I know people who are worse. I don’t panic when a black cat walks in front of me, and I don’t walk under ladders, just because I don’t want anything to fall on me.

I am aware of the number 13, but I think it’s because so many others make such a  big deal out of it. All my life I have been warned to watch out for the number 13 or take extra care on Friday the 13th. I guess my turning point came when nothing bad ever happened on that day, nothing out of the ordinary, anyway. I concluded that bad things could happen anytime, not just on a particular day or because of a particular thing I did or didn’t do. But that’s another story…

Another turning point happened this past week. Week 13 of the preparation for the Hiawatha Advocate’s launch date finds me a bit confused and perplexed at how fast things are changing. I consciously knew they would, but I guess I wasn’t prepared for the impact it would have on me.

I am returning to college for my last term and though I am still on Mount Mercy’s newspaper staff, I am no longer the editor. I was a bit sad and tried to put on a brave face. I tried to put it in a different perspective; yes, I am no longer the chief but I can still contribute to the success of the paper.

Yeah, that just didn’t cut it in my mind. The fact is, I liked being the editor in chief. And stepping aside to let someone have the  opportunity to grow as an editor really was the right thing to do. But I had a good experience and it was tough to let go.

I began letting go last year when Ryan was named the editor, but I didn’t realize that there was more to it than that; I had a transition to make, a transition from being editor in chief to web editor. It wasn’t just a change in name but a change in my role, and it was hard to do.

It really only took a few days to see that Ryan was going to be a great editor and I was going to be a great web editor. But this whole experience made me see that I am going to go through many, many changes in my quest to reach my goal, and I don’t think I can be prepared, no matter what I do. I hadn’t seen this reaction coming and maybe if I’d realized that it was a natural process, I wouldn’t have fought it so much.

Instead of fighting them, I should try to figure out a way to use it to my advantage. Change is inevitable, but I am understanding how change can also be a good thing, a sign that I have exited one chapter and entering a new one.

I’m not a superstitious person, nor am I am unlucky. Actually, I really don’t believe in luck in all. I believe life is what you make it. And a positive attutude goes a long way.

The Hiawatha Advocate

Leave a Reply

