A steady pace-Week 8

I decided in May to record my progress as I learn how to start my own community newspaper. I don’t think it was a conscious thought, but I’m glad I did. Looking back, I noticed that I write a lot about the emotional and mental aspects of the process, though what I have learned may give some insight as to how I am gaining the knowledge I need to succeed (I also noticed I included Week 6 twice, but oh well, some weeks are like that).

This is where I am, Week 8 (or 9 if you’re keeping track) of the Hiawatha Advocate: I have finished my business plan, and had it looked at by my business guy and my financial advisor.  I have edited it and have applied for the Targeted Small Business Certification that will help me secure a low-interest business loan.

I have set up a website on my own, but we are  in the process of building a better, more professional-looking site with the help of a “new employee” (though he’s not getting paid yet. CJ is doing it for the sheer joy of getting in on the ground floor of what could be a historical event).

I am keeping my goal of posting at least one new story a week, a goal I knew could be attainable without be overwhelming.

I am in the process of making a template for the newspaper, exploring what pages I am going to have; news, entertainment, community events, businesses, etc… I am also keeping notes about specific styles and fonts I want to use.

I am setting up my ad rate sheet, examples of ads to use in my “mock” paper and basically, getting it ready for feedback so that I can go back and change what I need to before I finalize my plans.

And all along I am keeping notes about the local businesses I want to visit to sell advertising and subscriptions, building my confidence, and adopting a more professional attitude.

Whew…

And throughout learning the ropes, I am living my life, spending time with my family, trying to be a good daughter, mother, grandmother, girlfriend, and friend.

I wrote last week about balance; how to balance all the aspects of my life. I know it will be a challenge when I start school, but even more so when I begin to work 14 hours a day on the newspaper.

The work doesn’t scare me. What does scare me is not being able to have the time for all the other parts of my life that I hold so dear. Is it possible to keep that, while realizing the dream I have worked so hard for?

I think it is possible. But, as I said last week,  it will take some dedication to time management, organization,  and balance.

Things are going as planned. I have never had a bad feeling about this venture. Not once have I ever thought that maybe it wasn’t feasible. It is becoming a reality, but at a steady pace I can handle. I think that, because I am by nature an impulsive person, it has given me time to contemplate all the ins and outs, all the pros and cons, all the positives and negatives about what I’m trying to accomplish.

Steady as she goes…it’s become my mantra; that, and Attitude is Everything. After all, a positive attitude is necessary to keep that balance I hold in such high regard.

Leave a Reply

