It’s never too hot to bake cookies

Summers in Iowa are unpredictable. It can be 60 degrees in the morning, but  by the afternoon, could easily be 100. Not usually, but I’ve seen it happen.

Baking in the summer can be unbearable and a lot of people avoid it all-together. But not me. The heat doesn’t faze me a bit. But as a courtesy to others, I try to bake in the morning when it’s cool.

My ultimate chocolate chip cookies

I love to bake as much as I love to write. I was 8 when I started experimenting in the kitchen. Cream puffs and muffins were my specialty, though I could make a mean Rice Krispie Treat. My dad was the King of banana bread and strawberry rhubarb pie, but my mom held the title of Cookie Queen.

I watched them both as they measured, stirred and baked, gaining much-needed knowledge as to how long is too long to bake, never over stirring, and no, brown sugar is not a substitute for white sugar.

I took everything they taught me to heart, gaining a passion for baking to the delight of my family and friends,

I won the Gazette Best-Tasting Cookie Contest two years ago and second place last year, but I think my days of competing might be over. Other interests have taken precedence and I don’t have a lot of spare time.

Unless of course, someone asks me; then I would be more than happy to bake, even in the summer.

Leave a Reply

