Nothing personal, it’s just business-Week 6

Every week I try to learn something new, and I usually end up learning way more than I bargained for. This week it’s all about learning the business side of running a newspaper, the financial aspect.

Feb. 29, 2012-only 8 short months away! (image from morethanjustamother.com)

While tweaking my business plan to submit to local lenders, I learned that, “it looks great on paper, but let’s be realistic…” How do I know that what I have down on paper will really go the way I want it to? While posing this question to my accountant, he reminded me that we don’t really know, but we have to have faith that it will, in fact,  go in that direction.

I keep reminding myself that the entrepeneur class I’m taking in the fall with take away some of that anxiety, but let’s face it; there will always be that fear that things won’t go as I plan, no matter what it says on paper. But at least having everything in black and white can ease some of the stress.

Do I have a handle on things? Am I doing what I’m supposed to? Are things going as they should? Is February really only eight months away?

I do, I am, they are, and it is.

My website is attracting a few readers, I am learning more about the community every day, and I am gathering my information in anticipation of meeting potential advertisers. I am editing my business plan, learning how to use Quick Books, and writing, writing writing. Am I missing anything?

Oh yes. I am having the time of my life!

How many people can say they get to do what they love? Even if things don’t go as planned, I’ll still be able to say it was worth it.

Leave a Reply

