Migraine sufferers closer to getting relief

As a migraine sufferer, I know what it’s like to lie in bed and pray that the throbbing pain in your head would subside and that every little noise, every ray of light wasn’t so excruciating.

Photo from psypost.com

But I’m lucky; I’ve been diagnosed with cluster migraines, but my migraines can be controlled with over-the-counter medicine. My brother, niece and sister have headaches so severe that they have to inject themselves with Imatrx, a potent migraine pain killer. They end up going to bed for hours, even a day, and wait for the pain to stop.

A June 12 article on Yahoo Health, entitled, “Scientists find genes linked to migraines,”  told about a study done on men and women with migraines and noticed that certain genes might be responsible for migraines. It said that those who suffer from migraines have a neurological condition that involves their neurons ‘speaking” to each other differently than those who don’t have migraines.

The article also said that women suffer with migraines 3-4 times more often than men.  Specific genes, they concluded, are responsible for migraines. Though it’s not a cure, they seem to be on the right path to finding out exactly what migraines are and how they can alleviate the suffering for so many.

Not so long ago, migraine sufferers didn’t have the resources to relieve their headaches.  They had to rely on aspirin to try to take their pain away. But today doctors know more about migraines as they used to. They now know that the flashes of light, the ringing of the ears, and the sensitivity to light and sound are indicators of a migraine coming on, and can usually be “headed off at the pass.”

Through years of suffering myself, I have come to terms with my headaches and have devised a plan on how to deal with them, which I think is different for everyone. I have tried extra doses of riboflavin, suggested by my doctor. I’ve taken Paxil (an anti-depressant)  which I didn’t like. I have tried Imatrex, which is usually great for migraine sufferers but didn’t help me much. I have tried Tylenol and Advil. But what has helped me the most is a combination of ibuprofen, Excedrin Migraine and Sudafed. I’m not sure why it works for me,  I just know it does, and when I get a migraine, I just want the pain to stop.

I refuse to let migraines run my life, but there are days when all I can do is lay down and hope it will go away. However, it sounds as though researchers are getting closer to figuring out what causes migraines. And when they do, it will finally ease the suffering of millions of people.

2 thoughts on “Migraine sufferers closer to getting relief

  1. crgardenjoe

    I have a sister with migraines, and I’m very lucky I have not had that problem. Hope you don’t have too many headaches in your future!
    Your personal blog is going to be linked to your business site, and I do have a couple of suggestions:
    1) Be more careful and accurate with attribution. “Photo courtesy of” sounds like you have permission. Better to say “photo from” and list the full URL.
    2) Does Yahoo! do it’s own articles, or was this an article from somewhere displayed on Yahoo? I don’t know for sure, just raising the questions–“an article on Yahoo” is pretty limited attribution and sounds like “an article from Google,” which is basically a non-attribution attribution. You should briefly include the date, headline and name of publication in most citations–no need to get more formal than that, but some need to be more complete than this one. And always think links–it’s easy to insert a link to the article, and gives your blog post more credibility when you do–and credibility is what you’re all about!

    1. Cindy

      Thanks Joe, a few things I didn’t really think about–I guess I thought since it was a personal blog I didn’t really needed to go into detail but it never hurts to practice good habits…lol Like I said, I’m pretty lucky too; I get some bad headaches once in a while but not like others I know. You learn to live with it…Thanks for the good advice!

Leave a Reply

