Building an empire–week 3

OK, so maybe I like to dream big.

Google Images

I don’t watch a lot of TV but happened to catch a glimpse of Donald Trump a few weeks ago, talking about how he didn’t get where he was today by being “soft.” I suppose we could take that a few different ways, but I think he meant that he didn’t let anything or anyone get in his way, no matter what.

While I may not have the personality of ever being that tough, I can see myself working just as hard to see that my publication thrives. It may never be the on the same scale as other empires, but it will be something I can be proud of. If I had ever thought for one minute that I couldn’t do this, I would have backed off long ago. But as soon as that thought entered my mind (thanks Joe!) that I could actually do this, not once have I thought it wasn’t possible.

Maybe that’s what Trump was talking about; thinking positive, having the drive and determination to see it through, not listening to other people who say it’s not possible. These are all qualities that seem to make all the difference in how I look at this whole project. I can’t let myself get into that negative thinking of, “What if it’s no good? What if people don’t read it? Why bother?” Because I really do believe in this paper, and I believe in myself.

Week three of the Hiawatha Advocate website has gone well. I have my site up and even have a few articles and photos on it. I will be working on it continuously; adding, deleting, editing, tweeking always trying new and different things.

I’ve said it before; I really think that taking it slow is helping me get to know the community of Hiawatha and different aspects of the newspaper business. I see it as “practice” before the big show, still on schedule for Feb. 29, 2012. It will be here before I know it and I still have so much to do.

This week I am trying to get ahold of city officials to talk to them about different events going on, but I know they are busy people, too. But I am pretty persistent; I have to be.

I am still having trouble with Go Daddy and the website, as far as search engines go. I am learning that process, too, and spent money to get it more visible when people google my site, but it still isn’t bringing it up the way I want. It’s all a process, I know, but I’m pretty determined to get things straightened out before the summer’s over.  Three months; I’m pretty sure it can be done.

http://hiawathaadvocate.com/

Leave a Reply

