Slow but sure-The Hiawatha Advocate (week 2)

Things are going as well as I expected for the first week of my online newspaper. I have my first story online, some pictures, and I am working on a format and creating a flag that will draw readers and say, “Read Me!”

Well, it isn’t much, but it is something, and I think this is the way I’m supposed to do it. The best advice I ever recieved about starting my own newspaper was by Lori Linder, former owner of the Solon Economist and North Liberty Leader who said, “Make sure everything is ready before you begin. Once you start, there’s no going back.”

Photo by Joe Sheller

So maybe the fear of failure is keeping me in check, but the thing that I’m thinking most about, is that I want to be ready. This online mini-newspaper is just a precursor for bigger and better things. I really do feel that this is the way it’s supposed to be. When I put my first issue out on Feb. 29, 2012, I will be ready. The hard part is waiting until that time and not rush it. Sticking with the original plan is crucial.

This summer will also be a learning experience. (Break? What break?) Getting out and meeting the community is something I also planned on doing this summer. Working on my website (hiawathaadvocate.com) will also prepare me for my final term at Mount Mercy University as web editor for the Mount Mercy Times. I was lucky to get in on the final production of the Times’ web edition (times.mtmercy.edu) of the graduation festivities at Mount Mercy. I learned a lot about the website process in my hands-on experience, and know it will benefit me immensely.

I knew I wouldn’t be able to do much relaxing this summer, and I’m OK with that. It’s getting me to a place that I once thought was impossible, and everything I do, I can learn from. So I’ll keep taking that next step forward, trust my instincts, and never pass up the opportunity to experience life, even if I’m tired or not feeling up to it. I know I’ll thank myself later.

Leave a Reply

