Being all I can be

Every day is a new adventure for me. I wake up with an inquisitive spirit, never really knowing what the day will hold, but ready for anything.

Everyday something exciting happens in my life, some days more than others, but I usually go to sleep at the end of the day knowing that I was able to learn something or participate in a memorable event.

Tuesday was a memorable day because I was able to share a bit of myself with a mismatch group of people at Mount Mercy. I was covering the JOLT event in the morning, hurrying to get there from a morning doctor appointment, only to find out that the speaker, Sarah Jencks, was ill and wouldn’t be speaking.

I sat down with Tricia Borelli, director of counseling services, and Jenifer Hanson, director of student services, to ask them a few questions about JOLT and overheard them talking about what they were going to do.

Send everyone home or ask the audience to tell their own inspirational stories? They decided on the latter, and asked for volunteers. Tricia nudged me and told me I should talk.  But as it were, Jenifer broke the ice and told us her story about attending a symposium last weekend.

“When I first got there I was thinking how I hated to work another Saturday, but when I left, I felt very inspired by it all,” she said.

After she was finished, I told the group how I have been inspired, ironically, by my own life. I found myself talking about things that I don’t normally tell people I don’t know, but my story seemed to inspire myself as I told it.

As I spoke, I realized that I was sharing a part of myself; who I was, who I am now, and how I got here. I found that it wasn’t the dreadful secret I thought it once was.

In the midst of my story, a feeling of accomplishment came to me, and I realized that I have overcome insurmountable odds to get to where I am today. I have been so busy trying to get to that place that I almost missed the fact that I am here.

It’s funny how many of us strive to get to a better place and when we finally get there, we don’t recognize it.  Maybe it’s because we don’t appreciate it or we always want something more.

My life is my inspiration. I made the decision to create a better life for myself and I have done that. I have had a front-row seat to obstacles that may have caused many people to give up. I have a drive inside of me that won’t let me give up.

I have consciously inspired myself to create a new experience every day. As I have said before, it’s all about attitude. I could sit around and wait for life to happen to me, or I can go out and create it.

What once was, isn’t always. And getting there is half the fun.

Leave a Reply

