Spring, finally

For me, spring holds many fascinations.

It isn’t just the  warmer weather that intoxicates me; it’s the rebirth of life itself that makes me appreciate the wonders of nature.

Life at its best

I have always been an outdoors kind of person. I’d spend my days hiking the woods and exploring the unknown terrain by our house. The only reason I would even come in would be to eat or use the bathroom, and even then it was difficult to tear myself away.

But as I grew older, communing with nature kind of lost a bit of meaning for me. Maintaining a home, working, and all those other distractions of life kept me from doing what I wanted to do. I think too, as I matured, that my feelings changed about bugs, worms, and snakes, and I found myself grossed out by them. Camping, something I once enjoyed, really wasn’t as fun as it used to be. The adventure turned into pain, the hard ground taking its toll on my aging body. The creepy, crawly bugs and annoying mosquitoes made me more frustrated than anything, so I often opt out of that type of recreation.

But working in the yard the past few years, playing with my grandkids, and taking long walks in the park, have made me regain some of the pleasures I used to find in spending time outdoors. The calming effect it has on me made me realize that I still find it enjoyable, and remember how much I loved it as a kid. I’m finding that those simple pleasures of seeing a flower make its way through the tough shell of its bud, and the happy songs of the birds, are just reminders that life is a cycle and we are all part of that.

I enjoy, too, seeing the fruits of my labor, knowing that I am helping to beautify the world a little at a time.

In the words of one of my favorite scriptures, this is the way it is supposed to be, the way God intended. The birth, the life, and the death, and the rebirth of everything.

“To  everything there is a season, a time for every purpose under the sun; a time to be born, a time to die; a time to plant, and a time to pluck up that which is planted,; a time to kill and a time to heal; a time to weep and a time to laugh; a time to mourn and a time to dance; a time to embrace and a time to refrain from embracing; a time to lose and a time to seek; a time to rend and a time to sow; a time to keep silent and a time to speak; a time to love and a time to hate; a time for war and a time for peace.”  Ecclesiastes 3:1-8

 
 
One Comment

Leave a Reply

