Making “Me” time important for balance in life

Finding any time for myself can be difficult, but this week I’m participating in the Busy Person’s Retreat, an event sponsored by Mount Mercy University.

I had no idea what to expect and found out at our opening meeting Sunday night that it’s more just time to pray, reflect, and talk to another person about it for about 20-30 minutes a day.

I can handle that, I thought to myself. I like to try new things and decided that I needed to do more things for my spiritual side.

Sister Katherine was chosen as my guide.  Katherine is from Detroit and is visiting Mount Mercy for the retreat. She said that she worked with adolescence and young adults as a counselor and has even conducted “dream” workshops

Amazingly, I have always found dreams very interesting and couldn’t resist asking her about my own.

“Can you tell me why I have such crazy dreams?” I asked her.

“No, but I can teach you how you can tell yourself why,” she said. She explained that she teaches people how to analyze their own dreams so they can use that information to help solve their problems.

We were given a packet with which to base the next four days of prayer-reflection-meditation time on.  Other resources such as how to prayer, ideas to ponder, and things to reflect on were included, as well.

Sister Shari, the director for identity and mission for the university, compiled the materials for the retreat and said that the retreat is a good way for people to slow down and look at where they are in life.

It’s no secret that I like to keep busy and talking to Katherine showed me that because I am starting later than most college students, maybe I am trying to make up for lost time.

It makes sense. I raised my kids and put my life on the back burner. I almost forgot what my dream even was. I am realizing now how precious and short time really is. I have finally found something that I love to do, and I enjoying doing it.

I hope this retreat will help me look at my motives behind why I do what I do and shed some light on how I can find a balance. I’m concerned that I’ll allow my work dominate my life, that I’ll forget how to enjoy all that life has to offer.  As much as I love my work, I don’t want to become a workaholic, something I have seen happen to others.

But I believe this is part of the plan God has for me. All the experiences, all the lessons that I have learned in my life have meaning.  Those experiences have made me who I am today.

I have long given up trying to explain life or God, for that matter. But I know He is taking me in the right direction. Maybe this retreat is His way of saying, “I think you need to slow down and look at what is going on in your life.”

I am going to continue my blog at the end of the week to let my readers know more about what I got out of the retreat.  I have a feeling I will be amazed.

Leave a Reply

