Compromising…our government?

Another sad day for Obama fans.  The bullies are at it again.

When did our government become a bunch of namby-pamby sissies who have to use threats to get what they want?  It’s almost blackmail the way they use their brute-strength to pummel the underdogs.

Of course, I’m talking about the Republicans, who have threatened to withhold support for the entire tax plan if Obama didn’t agree to approve a tax break for all classes of people, not just the lower-class. 

Though our president didn’t think it was fair of the Republicans to use such tactics (and he said so on national television), he went along with them, stating that he didn’t want to jeopardize a tax break for the people who really needed it.  OK, so  maybe he didn’t say it in exactly those words, but being a pauper myself, I think that the Republicans are just trying to find a loop hole that will get them from paying their fair share.

Slowly, but surely, I’m finding out how this whole politics-thing works.  I am trying desperately to maintain an unclouded picture of the people who we are paying to run our government for us.  But, for the life of me, it’s not working.  I find myself picking apart all the things that I think are wrong with our government, but I still keep coming back to the same conclusion time and again–what can I do about it?

I support Obama.  I liked what he said about Change. Like many things that are worthwhile, change doesn’t happen overnight, especially when so many people are resistant to change. I think a lot of people expected a miracle when they voted him into office.  They must have thought that he all he had to do was wave a wand and everything would be fixed.  I wish.  A lot of people do.

I can’t imagine that McCain would have been any better at trying to put our country back together if he had been elected instead. At least President Obama wants what’s best for everyone, not just a selected few.

What’s in a name anyway? It’s just a label, after all. Democrats, Republicans, Independents; what it comes down to is that we are all Americans who just have different ideas. I think we’re making a big mistake fighting each other. Compromising works if what is agreed upon is fair and equal.  Somehow, the issue at hand doesn’t fit into that category.

Leave a Reply

