Fast Food-fact or fiction?

I am not a fan of fast food.  McDonald’s, Burger King, Wendy’s, Arby’s, even Subway leaves a bad taste in my mouth, literally.

The thought of all the fat I’m consuming fills me with guilt and I can almost feel my arteries clogging.  But I can’t help it; I love cheeseburgers and french fries.

When I take my grandchildren out to eat, they don’t want to go to a sit down restaurant.  They would rather go to a place that gives a toy in every meal.  And because there’s a McDonald’s at every corner (it seems like anyway), that’s usually where we go.

Is it the statue of the funny clown with the red hair or the play area that calls to them while they’re trying desperately to choke down their  meal of process breaded chicken parts?  Of course, McDonald’s now has sliced apples with caramel sauce instead of fries to choose from.  Fat or sugar…tough call.

It isn’t just McDonald’s.  It seems as though fast food restaurants are trying to come up with new ways to show the public that they’re trying to offer more healthy choices on their menus.  Salads have been the healthy alternative for fast food restaurants for a long time but who wants a salad when they can have that double cheeseburger dripping with greasy goodness?  I should know better than to even walk through that door.  No matter what my intentions are when we walk in,  I always change my mind at the last-minute and go for the grease.

I know it’s bad for me.  My heart knows it’s bad for me. But when I smell the burgers cooking and the fries frying, I lose all sense of control. 

In a fast-paced world where everyone seems to be in a hurry, stopping at the fast food restaurant on the way home after working all day has become the norm.  But do we have to jeopardize our health because of it?  I think that if people continue to let their bad habits control them, we will continue to be the world’s most obese country.

Maybe someone can develop a fast food restaurant that really caters to health conscious consumers and maybe figure out a way to make a plain chicken breast taste like a cheeseburger and french fries.

Leave a Reply

